Be You

Today, as I was sitting in church, I kept thinking to myself how I “wanted” to be like the rest of the congregation. Praying out load. Singing with their hands in the air. Clapping and cheering.

I was quiet. In my own space. Enjoying the sermon and the atmosphere in my own way. Agreeing with the speaker in my silence.

And then I thought. Why do we all need to be the same? Why do I need to feel like they are “doing it better” because others are vocal and showing their thoughts/feelings? I don’t agree any less or pray less hard because I’m quiet. I’m introspective, and that’s okay. It’s between me and God anyways.

So I enjoyed the rest of my time at church, being who I was. And wanted to encourage you today to be who YOU are. Because there never has been or ever will be another YOU!

Leave a comment